Home Puzzles Carlsen Among Strongest Ever Field At Tata Steel Chess 2023

Carlsen Among Strongest Ever Field At Tata Steel Chess 2023

Carlsen Among Strongest Ever Field At Tata Steel Chess 2023


GM Magnus Carlsen as soon as once more tops the sphere for the upcoming 2023 Tata Steel Chess Tournament. The eighty fifth version of the annual super-tournament in Wijk aan Zee could have 5 gamers from the world’s prime 10 and likewise 5 of the world’s largest abilities.

Traditionally, the Tata Steel Chess Tournament pronounces the sphere for the Masters group about two months prematurely. This time, it is exceptionally robust. 

The match could have the world primary Carlsen (coming to Wijk aan Zee for the nineteenth time) in addition to the world quantity two GM Ding Liren, and three extra top-five gamers: GMs Fabiano Caruana, Anish Giri, and Wesley So. Furthermore, three different grandmasters from the world’s prime 20 will probably be current: GMs Richard Rapport, Levon Aronian, and Jan-Krzysztof Duda. Of course, 2021 winner GM Jorden van Foreest can also be again.

Besides this group of already well-established grandmasters, we’ve 5 of the strongest newcomers, rising stars, prodigies, or nonetheless you need to name them, all born within the twenty first century: GMs Gukesh D., Arjun Erigaisi, Nodirbek Abdusattorov, Vincent Keymer, and Praggnanandhaa R.

2023 Tata Steel Chess Masters Participants

# Fed Name Born Rating Rank
1 Magnus Carlsen 1990 2859 1
2 Ding Liren 1992 2811 2
3 Fabiano Caruana 1992 2766 6
4 Anish Giri 1994 2764 7
5 Wesley So 1993 2760 8
6 Richard Rapport 1996 2740 15
7 Levon Aronian 1982 2735 17
8 Jan-Krzysztof Duda 1998 2731 18
9 Gukesh D. 2006 2725 23
10 Arjun Erigaisi 2003 2718 28
11 Nodirbek Abdusattorov 2004 2713 32
12 Vincent Keymer 2004 2698 42
13 Jorden van Foreest 1999 2690 47
14 Praggnanandhaa R. 2005 2678 62

No fewer than 5 of the 14 individuals have gained the Tata Steel Chess Tournament earlier than: Carlsen (the report holder with eight victories in 2008, 2010, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019 and 2022), Aronian (2007, 2008, 2012, and 2014), Caruana (2020), So (2017), and Van Foreest (2021).

“We’ll be seeing nice video games,” stated match director Jeroen van den Berg. “And I’m not simply speaking in regards to the matches between the world’s finest gamers; I’m actually trying ahead to how the younger prime abilities, resembling 16-year-old Gukesh or 18-year-old Abdusattorov, will compete with the seasoned gamers.”

“This is the strongest area I’ve ever seen in Wijk aan Zee, a particularly spectacular line-up,” stated Giri “I hear the identical enthusiasm from different individuals. It’s nice to compete collectively for the coveted title in January. Everyone needs to win this match not less than as soon as and I feel that every one individuals will be capable of try this within the upcoming version.”

After two years of absence as a result of Covid-19 pandemic, the lots of of amateurs are anticipated to play once more, alongside the highest GMs and spectators, throughout this eighty fifth jubilee version. The tournament will happen January 13-29, 2023 in Wijk aan Zee, the Netherlands.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here