Wednesday, November 16, 2022
HomeBoard Gamemagic the gathering - How does The Ozolith work with Modular?

magic the gathering – How does The Ozolith work with Modular?


The different Arcbound Worker and the Ozolith each get the counters.

Functionally, The Ozolith shouldn’t be truly transferring counters round or taking these counters away. It is just saying: “whatever counters that thing had as it died, put those kinds of counters on the Ozolith.” These are model new counters, unrelated to the opposite ones, they only occur to be the identical varieties and portions. This is clarified in a ruling on The Ozolith itself:

The Ozolith’s first capacity doesn’t transfer counters off the creature that’s left the battlefield. Instead, it causes you to place plenty of counters of every form of counter that was on that creature onto The Ozolith. Notably, if you happen to in some way management a second The Ozolith, every one will obtain the identical quantity and sorts of counters that had been on the creature that left the battlefield. […]

This can also be lined by rule 122.8, which was added particularly for the Ozolith:

122.8. If a triggered capacity instructs a participant to place one object’s counters on one other object and that capacity’s set off situation or impact checks that the thing with these counters left the battlefield, the participant doesn’t transfer counters from one object to the opposite. Rather, the participant places the identical variety of every form of counter the primary object had onto the second object.

Modular is equally not transferring the precise counters round or taking them away. In truth, the principles on Modular make clear that it comes with two talents, certainly one of which is that this:

When this everlasting is put right into a graveyard from the battlefield, chances are you’ll put a +1/+1 counter on the right track artifact creature for every +1/+1 counter on this everlasting.

Just just like the Ozolith, this is not truly transferring the counters themselves round, it simply occurs to be creating new, unrelated counters that occur to be the identical sort and amount.

So on this scenario, we successfully have two talents:

  • Modular’s capacity, which functionally on this scenario says “When Arcbound Ravager dies, because it had one +1/+1 counter on it, you may put one +1/+1 counter on another target artifact creature.”
  • The Ozolith’s capacity, which functionally on this scenario says: “When Arcbound Ravager dies, because it had one +1/+1 counter on it, put one +1/+1 counter on The Ozolith.”

Both set off, and each resolve, each handing out model new counters to the Ozolith and anybody artifact creature.

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments