Home Board Game magic the gathering – If Progenitus “dies” to the command zone, can I shuffle my deck?

magic the gathering – If Progenitus “dies” to the command zone, can I shuffle my deck?

0
magic the gathering – If Progenitus “dies” to the command zone, can I shuffle my deck?

[ad_1]

Yes, for those who apply the substitute results as described, you’ll nonetheless shuffle your library. (Note: Rule 903.9 has since modified, however the final result is identical. More on that later)

In the foundations for the Shuffle key phrase motion, rule 701.19c says

If an impact would trigger a participant to shuffle a number of particular objects right into a library, that library is shuffled even when none of these objects are within the zone they’re anticipated to be in or an impact causes all of these objects to be moved to a different zone or stay of their present zone.

In truth, one of many examples covers a really comparable state of affairs. It says

Black Sun’s Zenith says, partially, “Shuffle Black Sun’s Zenith into its owner’s library.” Black Sun’s Zenith is in a graveyard, has gained flashback (resulting from Recoup, maybe), and is forged from that graveyard. Black Sun’s Zenith will likely be exiled, and its proprietor’s library will likely be shuffled.

In that state of affairs, like on this one, now we have an instruction to shuffle the cardboard into the library, and a substitute impact (created by Flashback) to maneuver the cardboard to a different zone (exile) as a substitute of the library.


Update: Rule 903.9 has been modified, and consequently, you’ll all the time shuffle your library on this state of affairs, however the final result is in any other case the identical. Rules 903.9a and b now say

  • 903.9a If a commander is in a graveyard or in exile and that object was put into that zone because the final time state-based actions have been checked, its proprietor could put it into the command zone. This is a state-based motion. See rule 704.
  • 903.9b If a commander could be put into its proprietor’s hand or library from wherever, its proprietor could put it into the command zone as a substitute. This substitute impact could apply greater than as soon as to the identical occasion. This is an exception to rule 614.5.

As a end result, the one substitute impact that modifies the demise occasion is the one on Progenitus itself, so you’ll all the time apply that one, after which you’ll be able to apply the substitute impact described in rule 903.9b to maneuver it to the command zone as a substitute of the library, as earlier than.

[ad_2]

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here