Sunday, October 9, 2022
HomeGamingWWE Extreme Rules 2022 Results, Review, And Surprise Bray Wyatt Return

WWE Extreme Rules 2022 Results, Review, And Surprise Bray Wyatt Return


Things acquired very excessive the night time of October 8 because the PLE/PPV Extreme Rules aired on Peacock. The greatest factor that occurred in the course of the night was the highly-anticipated return of Bray Wyatt, and sure, he has an entire new look. You can get the small print of Wyatt’s return to WWE and the outcomes for each Extreme Rules match beneath.

The present passed off on the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and a few of your favourite WWE wrestlers appeared on this very streamlined occasion, as there have been solely six matches on the cardboard. One of the most-anticipated bouts on the cardboard was Bianca Belair defending her Raw Women’s Championship in opposition to Bayley in a ladder match. Of course, we noticed Iyo Sky and Dakota Kai of Damage CTRL trigger issues for Belair.

There had been additionally some enormous surprises over the course of the night. No, we did not see somebody drive a tractor to the ring once more, however there have been a number of rumors that the present White Rabbit thriller taking place on WWE programming could also be resulting in the return of Bray Wyatt–those rumors had been true.

If you are pumped for Extreme Rules within the US, and wish to watch a replay, you should purchase it by means of your satellite tv for pc or cable supplier, or watch it on the Peacock streaming service. And though Peacock does have a free tier, you won’t be able to observe the WWE occasion by means of that. You’ll want a Premium ($5 a month, with adverts) or Premium Plus Peacock ($10 a month, no adverts) account. Regardless of which tier you select, there will probably be just a few WWE-related adverts all through the present.

There are a number of methods to observe Peacock . Aside from watching it on cellular units and a PC, you may stream the service on Amazon Fire units, Android TV, Apple TV, LG Smart TVs, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Roku, Samsung Smart TVs, Xbox One, Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, Xfinity, and extra.

For these overseas watching the PPV, you continue to get to observe it on the WWE Network, you fortunate geese.

Match card:

  • Liv Morgan (c) vs. Ronda Rousey (Extreme Rules Match for the Smackdown Women’s Championship)
  • Bianca Belair (c) vs. Bayley (Ladder Match for the Raw Women’s Championship)
  • Matt Riddle vs. Seth Rollins (Inside the Fight Pit with Special Guest Referee Daniel Cormier)
  • Drew McIntyre vs. Karrion Kross (Strap Match)
  • Edge vs. Finn Bálor (I Quit Match)
  • The Brawling Brutes vs. Imperium (Six-Man Tag Team Good Old Fashioned Donnybrook Match)

If you wish to study extra about each single bout on the cardboard for Extreme Rules, take a look at this week’s episode of Wrestle Buddies. This week, GameSpot’s skilled wrestling podcast takes an in-depth take a look at every bout and predicts who will win and lose. Additionally, PredictionBot 3000 v4.0 is again, making nonsensical predictions for the occasion.

Below, you may discover outcomes for every Extreme Rules match because it occurs. Keep checking in with GameSpot over the night as we replace the outcomes and add opinions for each match.

No Caption Provided

Kickoff Show

The preshow begins at 4 PM PT/7 PM ET. We’ll hyperlink the YouTube video beneath when it arrives so you may watch it reside. Additional Extreme Rules card notes from the Kickoff Show will probably be posted beneath.

  • Fight Pit is major occasion of Extreme Rules.

Main Card

No Caption Provided

The Brawling Brutes vs. Imperium (Six-Man Tag Team Good Old Fashioned Donnybrook Match)

The Brawling Brutes win by pin.

Mat: Finally, the Goode Ol’ Fashioned Donnybrook Match we have all been ready for. I hope it is as impactful as a Chicago Street Fight… or a Hollywood Backlot Brawl. Listen, we knew precisely what we had been stepping into with this match, no matter what it was known as. It’s a bunch of chaps having a go at each other.

This match has no proper to be pretty much as good as it’s nor go on so long as it did. It simply wanted to heat up the group. However, we acquired one of many extra memorable brawls in WWE historical past that was wildly enjoyable. I’m just a little dissatisfied that the barrels weren’t knocked over, or rolled at somebody, however this was a balls to the wall battle that was a ton of enjoyable to observe. (Chris talked about to me the barrels being rolled at somebody was accomplished at All Out. But like, I do not care. I need it once more.)

Anyway, Shane McMahon is the White Rabbit, proper?

7.5/10

Chris: Why was there an image of Sheamus’s grandfather at ringside with the barrels and stuff? Michael Cole famous that Imperium destroyed it, however I blame Sheamus for placing it there. Anyway, that is the right solution to kick off what appears like a present stuffed with banger matches as a result of it completely units the tone for a wild night time of motion. I like how this became a Sheamus showcase. He was down and out, then got here again and destroyed everybody in his manner, together with Gunther.

What’s particularly nice about this match is it is basically a road struggle and the ringside space was crammed with potential weapons, however the motion was largely simply these six individuals smacking the crap out of one another. Don’t get me flawed, there have been nonetheless some weapons, particularly within the dwelling stretch of the match, however a lot of the physicality was accomplished with fists that it made each groups look even stronger.

It additionally helps that the feud between the Brawling Brutes and Imperium remains to be very partaking. We wish to see these individuals beat one another up. And the proper team–the Brutes–won right here. This retains Sheamus alive as an Intercontinental Championship contender and goes to indicate the Brutes aren’t to be messed with.

8/10

No Caption Provided

Liv Morgan (c) vs. Ronda Rousey

(Extreme Rules Match for the Smackdown Women’s Championship)

Rousey wins by submission.

Mat: So the buildup to this match was Rousey calling Morgan “Hooters Barbie” loads. But like, is not that kinda redundant? Now, I have never stepped right into a Hooters since actually my 18th birthday again in ye olde 12 months of 2000, however to one of the best of my recollection, you needed to seem like Barbie to work there. That complete place was initially constructed on fairly ladies working there. It’s like calling somebody as an insult “Topless Chippendale’s dancer.”

This looks like Morgan’s first PPV/PLE match the place she actually looks like a champ in the way in which she works within the ring and fights in opposition to a former champion, Rousey. There’s a number of confidence in her now, and I liked seeing Morgan have some main moments of dominating Rousey. I do not look after the Rousey win, however I actually just like the end right here. It does not make Morgan look weak, as she handed out–she did not faucet–and we’re getting a heel championship run by the use of Rousey.

Anyway, Bo Dallas is the White Rabbit, proper?

6.5/10

Chris: Ronda’s manner of exhibiting she’s higher than Liv Morgan is to slut disgrace her by calling her “Hooters Barbie,” which is absolutely the lamest insult of all time. But let’s be sincere, Ronda’s by no means been an excellent talker.

But let’s speak about this particular match. I genuinely dig that Ronda averted weapons at first, whereas Liv tried to make use of them. I liked Liv utilizing the hearth extinguisher and that Ronda lastly put the bat to work. Still, the issue with the bat is that if this was an precise baseball bat, all of their bones could be smashed, which I can solely assume they are not. Swap the bat with a kendo stick and you’ve got a way more plausible second.

Even nonetheless, this was probably the most memorable outings for each of those ladies in latest reminiscence. It’s not usually you see Ronda pushed as a competitor, however her matches with Liv have accomplished that, which makes Liv look even stronger as a champion. You can label them fluke wins all you need, she’s accomplished what few in WWE have been in a position to.

I do not suppose Ronda ought to have received right here as a result of it is extra attention-grabbing to maintain the title on Liv, however we do not all get what we would like. Whatever the case, what’s vital going ahead is WWE acknowledging all Liv overcame throughout her reign and retaining her spotlighted in a solution to construct her up for one more shot.

6.5/10

No Caption Provided

Drew McIntyre vs. Karrion Kross (Strap Match)

Kross wins by pin.

Mat: Strap in for this one! Get it? Look, the match hasn’t began on the level of me writing these phrases, however I’m like 99.9% positive that McIntyre goes to chop the strap along with his sword. Why is he nonetheless bringing that to the ring, anyway?

Normally, I write just a little right here and there whereas the match was occurring, however I used to be actually simply having fun with the match. Kross is incredible to observe wrestling, and I like listening to him speak trash to his opponents. McIntyre may be very a lot the tremendous babyface right here that children like to cheer for–and I’m positive loads of adults do too. The end with the pepper spray was a bit foolish, however I suppose it really works right here. Overall, only a stable match, however not something to put in writing dwelling about. Also, McIntyre by no means reduce the strap along with his sword.

Anyway, Joe Gacy is the White Rabbit, proper?

6/10

Chris: FALL AND PRAY! I like Karrion Kross. I don’t love Drew McIntyre’s sword nonsense. I’m additionally not a fan of the principles for this match. Instead of a standard strap match, the place with a view to win you need to contact all 4 corners of the ring, this may be received through pinfall or submission solely. That’s not almost as thrilling.

At least they began the match with a brawl by means of the group, although, in order that helps. And from there, they simply beat the snot out of one another for some time, which, truthfully, what extra may you presumably need? Well, for one, a extra satisfying ending. Granted, this cements Kross and Scarlett as severe heel threats. What’s extra, it means we’d like a rematch in some method of match that can make certain Scarlett cannot become involved. That must be enjoyable.

6.5/10

No Caption Provided

Bianca Belair (c) vs. Bayley

(Ladder Match for the Raw Women’s Championship)

Bianca Belair wins.

Mat: I totally take pleasure in ladder matches, as an entire. It’s such a easy however efficient gimmick for a match. The construct to this was exceptionally compelling, and my expectations had been fairly excessive for this one.

Luckily, this match delivered the products. Sure, I might have liked to see Bayley win the title once more, just about to make Damage CTRL look much more dominant. There had been just a few nice spots within the match, like Bayley tearing aside a ladder to smash Belair time and again. In the tip, Belair acquired the win, and it really works. She’s been a terrific champion, and as soon as once more proved why she’s the EST.

Anyway, Man Mountain Rock is the White Rabbit, proper?

8/10

Chris: The factor I like about this match is it exhibits who has the ladder match expertise. Bianca is continually attempting to run up the ladder, whereas Bayley is doing the other. Instead of attempting to seize the title, she’s sporting Bianca down, which might make for a better eventual climb. She’s being sluggish and methodical about it.

This was a terrific match, full of wonderful moments. That mentioned, I do not love the ending. Don’t get me flawed, I’ve been a large fan of Bianca as champion, nevertheless it looks like time for a change has come. Plus, watching the babyface chase a heel champion is all the time infinitely extra attention-grabbing than having it the opposite manner. Bianca has gone by means of virtually everybody, so if Bayley is not the one to dethrone her, who’s? And what does this say about Damage CTRL, a disrupting pressure that was unable to truly disrupt the ladies’s division right here?

7.5/10

No Caption Provided

Edge vs. Finn Bálor (I Quit Match)

Edge quits.

Mat: Is Peacock cross-promoting the brand new Hellraiser film on Hulu? I’m not mad at it although. Just making very dumb jokes. “I Quit” matches could be a little bit of a blended bag, since they are typically exceptionally sluggish and brooding–or somebody is utilizing pliers on another person’s piercings, and it is bizarre. You hear me, HHH?

I do like that it took fairly some time for the remainder of Judgment Day to pop up within the match and never simply muck issues up your complete bout. And they got here on the good time, after an extended, brooding–no pun intended–battle between Edge and Finn. Great seeing extra growth of Dominik Guerrero (extra like Dominik Ripley now since Rhea is his daddy, although). For as awkward because the Judgment Day stuff began, this has been a terrific match.

Let’s speak the end. Judgment Day will get Edge to stop by threatening to hit Beth Phoenix with a chair within the head. It is the right end for this match. Edge does not look weak, as he is doing what’s finest for the love of his life. And Judgment Day appears much more heelish, with ultra-heat due to threatening to chairshot Edge’s spouse.

HOWEVER, WWE, you should cease it with the canned boos and cheers. It’s exceptionally annoying, particularly in the course of the end of this match.

Anyway, the Artist Formerly Known as Prince Iaukea is the White Rabbit, proper?

8.5/10

Chris: I actually didn’t anticipate Finn Balor to stroll to the ring sporting a spiked gimp masks. But I’m additionally not in opposition to it. Plus his evil theme music is a banger.

It must be no shock that this match was awesomely brutal. These two are the products and I Quit matches are sometimes a blast. So having them beat one another up all around the area was simply good enjoyable. Edge bringing a hockey stick into the brawl was completely Canadian.

Judgment Day’s involvement on this was excellent, and Rhea handcuffing Edge to the ring is fairly genius, truthfully. And all of it got here on the proper time. We acquired to see Edge and Finn brutalize one another for an excellent, lengthy stretch earlier than the shenanigans started. I additionally all the time love attending to see Dominic beat up the person who’s is not his father–remember, Eddie Guerrero is definitely his dad.

Beth Phoenix was a welcome shock as a result of, oh man, do I wanna see Rhea Ripley vs. Beth in any sort of match. These two had been made to face one another. And can we speak for a second about how into all of this the group was? They’re on hearth for all the pieces taking place here–including the, like, 15 spears Edge hit on Finn. And having Judgment Day use Beth because the distraction to get the bounce on Edge was incredible, as was utilizing threats in opposition to her to get Edge to stop (and hey, this was predicted on Wrestle Buddies).

There was a number of silliness on this match with all the shenanigans, nevertheless it all completely labored for me. So far, that is my match of the night time. And we acquired a conchairto to go.

8.5/10

No Caption Provided

Matt Riddle vs. Seth Rollins (Inside the Fight Pit with Special Guest Referee Daniel Cormier)

Riddle wins by submission.

Mat: Matt Riddle’s AR snake with a sideways hat on stands out as the dumbest factor I’ve seen this week. Anway, in contrast to Chris, I’m enthusiastic about Daniel Cormier as a result of I used to observe him struggle in UFC. Special visitor refs are all the time enjoyable.

So I discussed my pleasure for Cormier, however then, he acquired concerned… too concerned. Right off the bat, he breaks up one thing occurring and tells the wrestler “You’re not right here to struggle me,” like some bizarre motivational speaker.

So… um… Riddle jumped off the highest of the pit onto Rollins and it is among the most painful-looking spots of the night. Then, the match was over rapidly after that. There was no respiration room after that second. Seemed like a bizarre end. It was a extremely pleasurable match general, however I wished just a little bit extra.

Anyway, the lights exit after, “He’s acquired the entire world in his palms” is creepily sung, and a bunch of the characters from Firefly Funhouse seem. Then, we see The Fiend for a break up second. There’s a video that performs subsequent of the Firefly Funhouse all matted and a bizarre video performs on a TV of an individual in a white masks. We then get to see Bray Wyatt’s new look, with the white masks on. The masks is eliminated, and it is Wyatt.

8/10

Chris: FIGHT PIT! FIGHT PIT! FIGHT PIT! Let’s GO! I do not watch MMA, so I truthfully haven’t got something to say about Daniel Cormier being the referee tonight. The ref ought to have little or no involvement within the Fight Pit. And moreover, the concept, as Mat places it, that “particular visitor refs are all the time enjoyable” is flawed. Sorry, Mat. Guest referees are nice in the event that they’re a part of the storyline. This is simply pointless stunt casting.

If you have not seen a Fight Pit match earlier than, this was basically NXT’s pandemic innovation. And it is a incredible match sort. Also, I like Seth’s RVD tribute gear. No higher place than Philly to pay homage to ECW.

Early within the match, Cormier was manner too concerned, pulling the wrestlers off one another. Thankfully, that did not final too lengthy and as an alternative the match centered on Seth and Riddle inflicting ache on one another. I have to say, I used to be additionally very stunned by how dominant Rollins was within the early elements of the match. Given Riddle has the Fight Pit expertise, I anticipated him to be the person to beat early on.

What a enjoyable match, although. Seriously. Riddle’s Floating Bro from the highest of the Fight Pit was a factor of magnificence, the 2 buying and selling finishers, Rollins’ trash speaking Cormier. It all labored extraordinarily effectively for me. And Seth tapping out, giving Riddle the win, was absolutely the proper name for this explicit match. What a superb outing from these two males.

And then, the Bray stuff began with real-life variations of the Funhouse characters. This is, truthfully, so freaking good. Seeing the dilapidated Funhouse is such a cool visible. And getting the return of the maskless Bray Wyatt is a superb touch–though he does nonetheless have a masks a number of the time, it appears, and it appears very impressed by the film Black Phone. It’s sensible of WWE to simply give us the affirmation and a style of Wyatt for now, as a result of Raw is just not unmissable.

9.5/10

The merchandise mentioned right here had been independently chosen by our editors.
GameSpot might get a share of the income in case you purchase something featured on our web site.

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments